WOMEN OF THE WORLD, UNITE

On my way home from school last Friday, I saw a woman at the bus-stop, wearing a bag with a drawing of a cat on the telephone, underneath a slogan saying ‘THE ONLY ACCEPTABLE KIND OF CAT-CALLING’. I went over to her to compliment her on it, and we started chatting. On my 10 minute journey home, we talked about women’s rights, everyday sexism, the Brexit and Donald Trump. She couldn’t have been lovelier, and as I was about get off at my stop, she asked me if I knew about the Women’s March the next day.

Of coouuuuurssse I did.

Now the reason I wrote about the lady on the bus, is that as myself and her united- two total strangers, over a 10 minute span because of our shared beliefs, I felt amazing. And at the march, I experienced this feeling again, but x100.

So to the ignorant and narrow-minded people, making remarks such as…

‘It’s not like a protest is going to change anything’

‘Donald Trump won’t step down because of your feminist tantrums’

‘What a joke.’

‘What’s the point??’

‘You’re wasting your time’

(And yes, these are real comments taken from my own and my friend’s instagram accounts after we posted about the march), this protest has empowered and inspired me and MILLIONS of others, and fighting for what’s right is ALWAYS worth my time.

I have an indescribable glow inside of me right now, knowing that over 3 million people worldwide are just as passionate as I am, and won’t be silenced. The atmosphere was completely incredible, and knowing the same was happening all over the world was amazing.

Regardless whether or not you were at the march, it’s really worth…

a) following it on social media to see some of the wittiest signs and the most powerful pictures ever

and

b) watching parts of it on youtube, I suggest Ashley Judd’s reading of the poem by 19 year old Nina Donovan: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffb_5X59_DA (Meryl Streep’s Golden Globes acceptance speech is also amazing https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EV8tsnRFUZw) Both bring chills to me every time I listen to them (which I have been doing on repeat recently haha)

Please enjoy some of my personal favourite photos from the march worldwide (not all pics are my own!):

56821UNILAD-imageoptim-16195130_10155141824579411_9000769226409644699_n

2(180)

920x920

Women's March On Washington

best-protest-signs-womens-march-washington-donald-trump-87-5884b3eb4a462__700

best-protest-signs-womens-march-washington-donald-trump-90-5884b3f0d50f0__700

march-b-image1

Screen Shot 2017-01-23 at 17.49.02

Screen Shot 2017-01-23 at 17.50.17

stream_img

Screen Shot 2017-01-23 at 18.20.33

The world can truly be an amazing place, even if it sometimes doesn’t feel like it.

instagram

email

6 thoughts on “WOMEN OF THE WORLD, UNITE

    1. Thanks! I often think about what a shame it is how big the world is, and how many amazing people I’ll never meet. It does take a bit of courage talking to a stranger, but I guess it’s important to remember that fortunately, there’s more good than bad in this world. I’m so glad I did this time, I felt a real sense of excitement talking to someone I didn’t know who felt exactly the same way about so many things as me! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I absolutely love this post! I live in New York City and the amount of Woman that I was able to see unite truly made me feel so happy inside. The experience you shared about you on the bus complimenting another woman also made my heart smile. I love it when woman are not afraid to speak and interact with other woman. I wish more woman were like you. I wish more people were able to take a step out of their comfort zone to start a random conversation and see the beauty in what its like to positively interact with one another. I literally love this entire post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I often forget how amazing the world can be- yes there are terrible things going on right now, but it’s so easy to get wrapped up in the negativity of it all. It sometimes feels a bit hopeless, but it’s important to never forget the power that independently-thinking people in unity possess. The experience on the bus felt special, and this is one of the things I love most about blogging. I feel I am able to unite with people all over the world over my feelings and ideas. I live in London, and would never otherwise be speaking to someone all the way in New York! The feeling of unity around the world during the Women’s March literally made me feel as if I was glowing inside. I couldn’t stop smiling, and when I think about it now, it still makes me feel happy. Connecting in some way with people thousands of miles away is something truly special. Thank you so much for your lovely comment, ones like these really mean a lot to me! xx ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree with you on everything you have said! So far what I’ve loved is hearing how much just by reading words over the computer can really move and inspire others. Like you said to hear from and share views on different subjects with people all around the world makes this experience even more special. I am so glad that I have come across your blog and I can not wait to read more of the beautiful things you have to share! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

