LA LA LAND

Two Fridays ago, my friend and I booked a couple of verrrryyy risky tickets to see La La Land. I say risky, because the film started showing at the same time our last lesson ended! We figured 30 minutes of ads and trailers might be enough time to make it, and luckily we only just managed to run out of P.E (having gotten changed in approximately 3 minutes- unheard of for a slowcoach like myself), catch the bus and the tube arriving with a couple of minutes to spare for popcorn (only to drop it on the stairs as we ran frantically to our seats).

Despite it being a breathless, popcornless and downright stressful experience, I really enjoyed this film. I was cynical at first about the 213 nominations it received (!), and the 145 wins (!!). I mean how good can a film be?

And unpopular opinion 1.0, at first, I couldn’t help but feel that it wasn’t worth all the hype. Don’t get me wrong, it was a lovely film- the soundtrack was brilliant, I loved the style and the colours. The costumes were absolutely beautiful, and I do think it was one of those rare films (in with the Grand Budapest Hotel and Nocturnal Animals) where you could pause it at any moment, and use the shot for a movie poster. The composition of each scene really was exceptional, and it was beautifully filmed, with very few cuts.

La-La-Land-trailer2

lalaland

lalaland0

lalaland3

lll_d41-d42_06803_r-h_2016

Screen-Shot-2016-11-03-at-10.09.24-AM

thumb-1920-759259

 

However, 213 nominations is insane, and I went to see it in peak lala-hype season. Before I went, all my friends were telling me how ‘incredible’, ‘amazing’ and ‘glorious’ it was. Everyone was talking about the record-tying number of Oscars, and the endless list of awards.

Because of all the hype, I set unfair expectations on La La Land, and so couldn’t help but feel just a little bit underwhelmed. I’m annoyed with myself for not seeing it before all the nominations and the buzz happened, because I do think I would’ve seen it through different, more positive eyes.

And in spite of feeling a little bit disappointed immediately after watching it, La La Land has really stuck in my mind, a sure sign of a good film. I’ve since searched for clips on youtube, listened to some of the songs on loop on Spotify, and shamelessly joined in with the hype.

I do believe La La Land will become a classic in a few years time because of the gorgeous cinematography more than anything. The story is also obviously lovely, in an unpredictable and non-conventional way. The final twist sets La La Land apart from old Hollywood films with perfect, unrealistic endings, and offers a more modern edge to the 1950’s style.

So if you haven’t already seen it, I would encourage you to go, but would urge you also to try to watch it with fresh, unsuspecting eyes. Unrealistically high expectations will ruin it just a little bit.

★★★★★

5 stars for the complete and utterly beautiful cinematography, set, costume and style of the film, as well as the catchy songs.

Let me know if you’ve seen it, and what you thought! I’d love to know. Did expectations ruin your cinema visit a little bit? Can you look past them like I’ve tried to do? ❤

ALSO… I’ve made an Instagram account now yay! @sleeplong.dreamdeep It should be on the tiny logo at the bottom of my blog, go and drop me a cheeky follow to stay updated with my posts!

You can check out the trailer here, and listen to all the songs here!

(all photos in this post are not mine)

instagram

email

 

2 thoughts on “LA LA LAND

  1. That was quite a review and it struck a cord especially when you talk of the high expectations it comes ; very few films live up to it. So will keep my mind open even though everyone I love has seen it and that’s all they talk about. Plus the nominations! Tough act indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I think it’s a beautiful film no matter how high your expectations are, and you definitely won’t be disappointed by the visual effect it has. Do try and keep an open mind though. I’d love to know what you think after you’ve watched it! Keep me posted ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

