MAKEUP HAUL

Now although I have always been a spender rather than a saver, I had never done a ‘haul’. For those of you less familiar with the term, a haul is pretty much the collection of new items you have after a big old shopping spree. I think the reason I’m not a hauler is that if I spend £30 over the course of 5 days, instead of all at once, I feel better about it.

Of course, I can see the benefits of buying a lot of things in installments rather than in one go, and I’m not suggesting that a haul is good for your bank account or anything; but sometimes it’s really nice to treat yourself to some things you’d really like.  And no, ‘treating yourself’ doesn’t mean buying a ton of stuff and being wracked with buyer’s guilt afterwards.

About a month ago, I finished my mock exams, which in order to revise for, I had to sacrifice the most wonderful time of the year: the Christmas holidays. Honestly, I think over the two week break, I left my house 3 times. I worked like a complete maniac (post on this is to come), and had very little time to myself. In the ‘recovery weeks’ (as myself and my family have taken to calling them) after mocks ended, I’ve really been relaxing.

Anyway, on Valentine’s Day, I received some money from a relative as a kind of combined late birthday-christmas present. I never normally receive money as a present from my family, and so I wasn’t really sure what to do with it to begin with. I thought I’d save it for later, but then I walked past the Benefit store.

And yes, saving my money would have been smarter in the long-term, but in that moment, I really couldn’t have given less of a fuck. So, to celebrate my mock results, the end of my recovery period (I had better start revision for the real things sooner rather than later), and a spending impulse, every penny of that money was spent on makeup. And I don’t have a single regret about it. I had always lusted after Benefit makeup, I think the packaging is gorgeous, and I had heard so many good things about the actual products. It was just never in a price range suitable for my budget. I was also seriously lacking in the makeup department (everything had ran out, and I had been using my testers from Elle and Vogue for the latter months of 2016 and the whole of 2017). I don’t regret spending my money in this way at all, because I’ve bought some lovely things, and I know I’ll be using them lots.

So here’s what I picked up: (I’ll start with the Benefit stuff and then move on to the others)

IMG_2400-3.JPG

Roller Lash Mascara: £20.50                                                                                                          I had been using the teeny tester that I got from Elle TWO YEARS AGO. This stuff lasts forever, and yes, it’s quite expensive, but I really think you’ll get your money’s worth. It has amazing staying, curling and lengthening power, and I haven’t stopped receiving compliments since I started wearing it. It’s really natural, but can be layered for a little more volume. I’d 100% recommend- it’s the best mascara I’ve ever tried! They actually have a deal on right now, where they give you a mini one free so catch it quick! I was really happy about that, because the mini is really reasonably sized, perfect for travelling, and will last you a good while (my first one definitely did).

IMG_2401.JPG

Speed Brow: £13                                                                                                                           My brow game is just not naturally very strong. I feel like my eyebrows are really far apart from each other and quite thin, and although the plus side of this is that I don’t have to spend time and money on waxing or threading, I live in a time where thick brows are the height of fashion, and I can’t help but feel a little like I’m missing out. I think this is a bit cheeky on the price, as it is very small, but it has some serious setting power, and gives a really lovely and natural effect. I had been using the Benefit Goof Proof Brow Pencil tester I got from Elle, and I absolutely love it. These work really nicely together if you have a little more time, whereas the Speed Brow is great on it’s own if you need a super quick and easy brow fix. Considering the price, I’m going to have to keep my fingers crossed that It’ll match my tester Roller Lash and last about 10 x longer than anticipated.

IMG_2411.JPG

Big Easy BB Cream: £31                                                                                                             This is the most expensive of all of the products I bought, and it is faaaarrrr pricier than anything I would normally go for. But I was on a spending spree and seemed to have no financial boundaries that day. And although this is probably the most boring item of the haul, it’s a really lovely product. I’ve never liked how foundation feels or looks on my skin, and this is really light. It’s a BB cream, so it controls oil and balances moisture, as well as evening out the tone of your skin. You don’t need to wear powder on top of it either, because it blends like a cream, but dries matte like a powder. My skin definitely looks and feels smoother when I use this.  A little goes a very long way with this, so I’m anticipating it to last a while.

IMG_2412.JPG

IMG_2413.JPG

Watts Up! Cream Highlighter: £25.50                                                                                   Once again, pretty pricey, but holy crap this product is absolutely gorgeous. I think the packaging is beautiful (outside and inside), and the product is subtle, delicate and luminating. One side is the highlighter, and the other side blends. It is so smooth, and can be layered for a stronger shade, (though it’s pretty pigmented and I’d use 2 layers max). This is my favourite product of the lot- I honestly think it would suit any skin tone, the champagney colour is absolutely stunning.

And now the products not from Benefit:

IMG_2409.JPG

Mac Dusky Rose x 9 Eyeshadow Palette: £25                                                                      Before this haul, I only had two eyeshadows, and they were both the Colourpop Supershock shadows. In my opinion absolutely nothing beats them. The pigmentation is incredible, there is so much choice for colour, and it lasts night and day. They are really reasonably priced too (about £4) but international shipping is really expensive. I feel like it’s only really worth it when you buy with a group of friends so you can split the price, which can be difficult to organise. I bought this Mac palette, because I’m loving pinks for eyeshadows nowadays. I think the shades are absolutely gorgeous, and there’s a good mix of shimmery and matte. I think all of the colours work really well together, and I reckon this palette could be used for a number of looks, and dressed up or down. The pigmentation is pretty good (doesn’t quite match Colourpop, but I really don’t think anything does), and they are surprisingly cheap. The palette seems pricey but if you figure it out per shadow, it’s only about £2.70! Really recommend.

IMG_2405.JPG

IMG_2406.JPG

Kylie Birthday Edition Copper Cream Eyeshadow                                                                     This is 100% fake- it was about £3. I’m not proud of supporting fake products, and I’m even more ashamed to say I really like it… The Kylie cosmetics are really expensive, and postage is even more, so this is a pretty good dupe. I love the colour and the sheen it gives, and the pigmentation is pretty good (though nowhere near the quality of my Colourpop ones). The only think I don’t like is the consistency, which feels a little bit heavy and sticky (more like a cream blush). I far prefer the moussier texture of the cream Colourpop ones. Other than that, sorry Kylie- I quite like it! [When buying fake products, please please always do a patch test first. Chances are, it’s probably ok, but you really don’t know what’s gone into it, and it’s more likely to contain something a bit cheap and dodgy. Swatch it on your arm and leave it for a day if you can (the longer, the better). If nothing happens, you’re probably good to go. I have really sensitive skin, so I should be doing this with all products, fake or not really.]

IMG_2403.JPG

YSL Dessin Du Regard Eye Pencil: £21                                                                                        I was having a browse in YSL at the end of the day, not intending to buy anything, when the sale’s assistant approached me and asked me if I wanted the Valentine’s Day freebie. Now I am never one to turn away free stuff, so I received a bag containing a rose, lots of Black Opium perfume samples, a full-sized (!) Mon Paris perfume and this full-sized (!!) eyeliner. I swear I’m not making this up- I couldn’t believe my luck! However, after having a chance to try the products out, I must say, I’m not the biggest fan of the eyeliner. I really thought I’d love it, but I find it hard, and not very pigmented at all. I read somewhere that if you hold a lit match next to an eye pencil for a couple of seconds, it will soften it. This has helped a little, but I still feel like for the normal price of it, you shouldn’t have to be setting fire to it to make it useable. Oh well, you win some you lose some, hey? The Black Opium perfume is a bit heavy for me (in case you were wondering), but the Mon Paris is lovely!

And we’re done! I definitely won’t need to be buying new makeup any time soon, haha. I’m not feeling a drop of buyer’s regret at the moment, and am still basking in the excitement and strange happiness that buying new things seems to bring me. I know I’ll get a lot of use out of all of it.

Hope you enjoyed this. Let me know what you think! ❤

instagram

email

6 thoughts on “MAKEUP HAUL

  1. I have been wanting to try roller lash for so long but I haven’t because I wasn’t too sure if it was worth it. I love make up and love hearing reviews on products. I will definitely try roller lash now because your entry has me excited about it! I will continue to be on the look out for your entries!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you babe! I wasn’t sure if it was worth the price either, but the tester got me addicted! It’s the one in this post I’d recommend the most, you’ll definitely get a lot of wear out of it. It is quite expensive so I it’s worth getting your hands on a mini first, or at least trying it in the shop, just to make sure you really like it. Let me know what you think about it, it really works for me! ❤ xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

