PANCAKES

My dad’s pancakes are the best. Only he (and my grandpa) can make them, because they completely make up the recipe every time!

Every time my dad makes them, he doesn’t use scales or any measurements. He literally pours in flour, sugar, eggs, butter and milk until it ‘feels right’ (something that I- a seriously shit cook fear I’ll never understand). The most frustrating thing: despite him making up the recipe every time, they always taste the same- amazing!

Personally, I’ve always been more of a ‘one cup pancake’ kind of girl, which are possibly the simplest and quickest pancakes ever (recipe here). However, although they are seriously difficult to mess up, they never turn out tasting that amazing. I’ve always been a bit disappointed with how flat and rubbery they turn out. I mean they’re a great if you want a quick and easy breakfast with minimal washing up; but if you’re willing to spend a little bit more time (and ingredients), I have a better recipe for you.

On Sunday morning, my equally rubbish-at-cooking friend and I decided we’d branch out from the usual one-cup to something different.

And holy crap I’m so glad we did.

All I can say is that my dad had better watch out. These pancakes are so fluffy and soft and even I can’t mess them up!

So here’s the recipe, with some rambly additions in the method from me:


(Serves 2-3 hungry people)

INGREDIENTS

IMG_2434.JPG

– 1 cup plain/all-purpose flour

– 2tsp baking powder

– 1 pinch of salt

– 2tbsp white sugar

– 3/4 cup + 2tbsp milk

– 1 large egg

– 2tbsp unsalted butter

– 1tsp vanilla extract

– sunflower oil (or any unflavoured oil) for cooking

METHOD

1.  Combine the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar in a large bowl. Sift the flour if you can be bothered- your batter will be smoother, but this isn’t an essential step.

2.  Melt the butter in a small saucepan over a low heat.

3.  While the butter is melting (keep an eye on it, I let it burn the first time! If it starts to    sizzle, take it off immediately), beat an egg in a smaller separate bowl.

4.  When the butter is almost completely melted, take it off the heat. Leave it to cool a little bit before you add it to the egg otherwise you’ll get scrambled eggs (something else I did the first time!).

5.  Combine the cool melted butter with the egg, milk and vanilla in the same bowl you used to beat the egg.

6.  Pour the wet ingredients into the large bowl with the dry ingredients.

7.  Mix together until all the ingredients have formed a thick batter. DO NOT OVERMIX, otherwise you will get flat, thin pancakes. Stop yourself from stirring as soon as everything is incorporated.

8.  If the batter is really thick, almost like dough, add a little bit of milk. It is meant to be thicker than normal pancake mix though.

9.  Set the batter aside for 10 minutes. Again, this step isn’t essential if you’re in a rush, but it will make the pancakes way better, and really does make a difference. I would really suggest tidying up now, otherwise you’ll be left with a monster mess like I was.

10.  Set a large pan over a medium heat on the stove. Pour a little bit of oil onto the base of the pan (just enough to cover the bottom). Oil is far better than butter for these pancakes, because they need a while to cook, and butter burns fast!

11.  Pour your batter into a jug for easy pouring. Drop a little bit into the pan to check if the oil is hot enough. When the drop starts to sizzle then you’re ready!

img_2452

12.  Pour the batter into the pan (I like to do 3-4 at once) and leave to cook until bubbles form on the top, or the underside is golden-brown.

img_2448

13.  It is really important to check the underside of the pancake while it is cooking. If it’s burnt while the top is still really raw, then the heat is too high. Use the colour to judge the flame.

img_2445

14.  Flip the pancake over. They should begin to rise now. It’s fairly clear when they’re ready but difficult to describe. You just know! Both sides should be golden brown.

15.  Serve while hot with a topping of your choice.


Now I now the method looks like a monster, but I swear it’s super simple- I just talk a lot!

You really have to eat this quickly- give them 5 minutes and they go a bit soggy. Mine weren’t the stackable sort, because they were all different shapes and sizes, but they tasted good anyway!

IMG_2453.JPG

These are honestly so easy and delicious- if I can make them, so can anyone! No pancakes will ever be as good as my dad’s, but these are good enough for me when I’m home alone.

Pancake day is coming up (28th February), give these a try and let me know how they go! I’d love to hear ❤ 

instagram

email

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

